Carrot Cupcakes

As mentioned in the post Business Culture Germany and US it’s a common thing to celebrate the starting of your new job in Germany by bringing in a treat for your coworkers. Let it be a breakfast or in my case cupcakes.

I decided on cupcakes, as I am both a big fan of sweets as well as baking. I picked out a free Sunday afternoon and made a dozen of carrot, banana chip and bee-sting cupcakes. As I didn’t know my coworkers too well at that point of time I thought brining in 3 different flavors would offer a good variety for every taste.

As we were still fairly new to our apartment it was the first time baking in the new kitchen and with an oven I didn’t know. Therefore, to be on the safe side, I used recipes I had done in the past and though I could easily master. As much as I enjoy exploring new recipes and flavors I didn’t want to risk it that day. With stores bring closed on Sundays in Germany I would not have been able to get additional ingredients or buy alternative sweets if the recipes didn’t work.

For the carrot cupcakes I used a recipe I had done several times before and enjoy eating myself. The preparation time is rather short with 25-30 minutes for the batter and another 20 minutes of baking, during which time you can already start the frosting.

möhreIn this case I used marzipan carrots as decorations.

MöhrenFor the batter start shredding the carrots, either with a manual grater or a machine if available.

I went home that Monday with an empty tray, all 3 dozen cupcakes were eaten 🙂

Preparation: 30 Minutes
Baking: 20 Minutes
Preheat oven to 350° Fahrenheit or 170°Celsius

For the batter you will need:
200g shredded carrots/ equals 1 ½ cups
2 eggs
150g flour/ equals 1 cup
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 pinch of salt
100g sugar equals ½ cup
100g of light-brown sugar equals ½ cup
70 g applesauce equals ¼ cup
100 ml vegetable oil equals ½ cup
1 teaspoon vanilla sugar (if not available use 1 teaspoon vanilla extract)

Mix the dry ingredients; flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg in a bowl. Afterwards shred the carrots. In another bowl whisk eggs and sugar until it becomes a light mixture, afterwards add applesauce and vanilla sugar. Keep whisking, and add the vegetable oil. Now you can mix flour mixture and carrots under the liquid.

Spilt the batter into 12 muffin forms and bake for 20 minutes. I often use a toothpick or fork to test after 15-18 minutes how done they are. If no batter sticks to the toothpick they are done!

As for the frosting I always like a cream cheese frosting with carrot cake. I think the flavors blend well together, though feel free to make a different one if you prefer.

For the Frosting:
400g powdered sugar
200g cream cheese
100 g butter equals 1/2 cup
1 teaspoon vanilla sugar (if not available use 1 teaspoon vanilla extract)

For the frosting mix butter and cream cheese. Once well mixed slowly add the powder sugar and vanilla sugar till the mixture thickens.
In case the mixture doesn’t thicken place it in the fridge to cool.
Once thick enough place on cooled cupcakes and enjoy!

Hope you enjoy the cupcakes as much as I!

One thought on “Carrot Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

